Many say, it's the Standard by which all runners are measured...

How fast can "YOU" run the mile?! Care to answer the question?

Join us for the 13th running of the NICK BOTTONE Track Mile.
(See below for a brief chronicle of the race.)

Date and Time: Tuesday, July 18th, 2006 at 6 P.M.
Registration begins at 5:30 P.M.

Place: Westerly High School Track
           25 Ward Avenue, Westerly, RI


Timed heats for Children and Adults.

It is presented by Westerly Track & Athletic Club-Tom McCoy Family Fun Run Series.
Timed by Southern New England Road Race Officials (SNERRO)

Info: Call 860-599-1219 or Email Nick Bottone, Jr. at

NICK BOTTONE TRACK MILE - A Chronicle of Feature Race Winners

In the summer of 1994 on a muggy early evening under threatening skies, about 30 runners gathered to test their mettle at one of running's most fabled distances. The group was split up into two heats, those who planned to run in 6 minutes or higher and those who felt they could run in under 6 minutes. The venue for the competition was the Westerly High School Track.

Joe Pizza, a postal worker from Westerly, was first and fastest in the inaugural feature race of the NICK BOTTONE TRACK MILE. Pizza's winning time was 4:59. He was the only runner to finish under the 5 minute barrier. The womens' race was won by Mary Janiszewski, Westerly High womens' cross country coach, in a time of 5:10.

As we mark the 50th anniversary of the first ever sub - 4 minute mile by Sir Roger Bannister on May 6, 1954 (3:59.4), we thought it fitting to list all of the feature race winners through the years of the NICK BOTTONE TRACK MILE. And, once again, pose the question "How Fast Can YOU Run The Mile?" - (WT&AC)

Year, Feature Race Winner, Affiliation or Locale, Time

1994 Joe Pizza, WT & AC* 4:59
1994 Mary Janiszewski, WT & AC 5:10

1995 Jamey Vetelino, Brown University 4:48
1995 Mary Janiszewski, WT & AC 5:14

1996 Mark Fonnemann, Westerly High Sch. 4:40
1996 Mary Janiszewski ,WT & AC 5:17

1997 Rob Hecker Saint, Bernard HS 4:37.1
1997 Tuita Casa, Storrs, CT 5:20

1998 Spyros Barres, Mystic, CT 4:34
1998 Emily Selvidio, Wake Forest Uni. 5:37

1999 Tyler McCabe, Stonington HS 4:44
1999 Carol Ann Gray, Westerly, RI 6:42

2000 Mark Brissette, Stonington HS 4:50
2000 Kathy Sanford, Unavailable 6:31

2001 Mark Brissette, Stonington HS 4:47
2001 Diane Kodama, North Stonington, CT 6:02

2002 Tyler McCabe, Providence College 4:21.7**
2002 Julie Robinson, Stonington, CT 6:02

2003 Chris McCormack, Sou. CT State Univ. 4:31
2003 Emily Anderson, University of RI 4:58.9**

2004 Michael Blanchard, Ledyard HS 4:34
Heather Stevenson, Ledyard HS 5:19

2005 Dan Sieczkiewicz, Boston Univ., 4:24
2005 Emily Anderson, University of RI, 5:21

* Westerly Track & Athletic Club


email us for information